Einstein said

I am not a success. I have never invented something. Saved a life. Or made a fortune. I am however of value to the people that I know. Einstein said; “Strive not to be a success, but rather be of value.” and I agree.


I have limits. I can’t fly, or sing in key, or grow taller. But I know that I can’t do these things and therefore I can move on. I can get on a plane and fly over oceans, I can sing without having to be in key, and I can put on high heels and be 4 inches taller. Einstein said; “Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them” and I agree.


Schools no longer teach people how to live. They teach how to compute. I will never use my knowledge of the Amazon, I will not need to know Jefferson’s birthday, and no one cares what pie’s 27th digit is. Knowing how to live in the world and retain the essence of who you are is what should be taught. Einstein said; “It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education.” And I agree.


Being smart isn’t about knowing things. I am not smart if I know addition. Or if I can paint a portrait. Or if I can cook like Julia Child. I am smart if I can figure out how to do addition. And if I can fail enough times to finally succeed. Einstein said; “It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer.” And I agree.


Prejudice is folly. Black is not bad, fat is not ugly, and small is not weak. We are taught to think these things even though they are not true. Einstein said; "Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocrities. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence." And I agree.


Life is not as important as we make it out to be. What I wear doesn’t matter. What I listen to is irrelevant. What language I speak is nothing. Those are all just details. Einstein said; “I want to know all God’s thought; all the rest are just details.” And by God, I agree.


Dikt av Olivia Niederhauser


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0